The Three Peaks are the landmark of the Dolomites and the nature highlight of the Holiday Region Three Peaks in the Dolomites. The Three Peaks are situated in the Three Peaks nature park and in 2009 they were declared UNESCO World Heritage, as were all other peaks of the Dolomites.

The three battlement-like peaks consist mainly of dolomite.
The Cima Grande measures a proud 2,999 metres
The Cima Occidentale 2,973 metres
And the Cima Piccola 2,857 metres

anno 1869 first Grande Cima ascent
In August 1869 Paul Grohmann from Vienna travelled to the Three Peaks region for his holidays. When he saw the Three Peaks, this passionate mountain climber was gripped by a desperate yearning to stand on the top of this mountains.
Talking to locals he discovered that a fellow mountain climber from Sesto, Franz Innerkofler, had already explored the area and discovered a possible entry to the Cima Grande. On 21 August 1869 Grohmann, Innerkofler and Peter Salcher from Luggau started their climb. The path led from the South-eastern base of the mountain across a ravine to the top of the Cima Grande at 2,999 metres. 2 hours and 55 minutes later the majestic mountain had been conquered.

Source: Drei Zinnen/Helmut Dumler